Mail Call!

by Jason Rolfe

img_3922Léon Bloy
The Tarantulas’ Parlor and Other Unkind Tales

LIMITED EDITION of 60 copies, of which 55 will be made available to the public.
Hardcover, 288 pages
1st edition, October 17th, 2016

A paperback is also available:

Paperback, 286 pages
1st edition, October 17th, 2016

I just finished reading Brian Stableford’s introduction to his recent translation of Léon Bloy’s Histoires Désobligeantes. It’s a very thorough introduction, not only to the works themselves, but to their author, and should be read by anyone interested in ‘discovering’ Bloy for themselves. Mr. Stableford’s thoughtful insights into the man and his immediate world certainly enhance the reading of these contes cruels.

…and while truth is sometimes stranger than fiction, fiction is always truer.

Mr. Stableford’s assessment of Bloy brought to mind a somewhat later writer, Fr. Rolfe, whose work, you may well know, has held my fascination for some time. With this in mind, I am all the more curious to read his translation of Bloy.bloy.jpg

These stories are not new to me. I ‘met’ Léon Bloy shortly after reading Auguste de Villiers
de l’Isle-Adam’s Cruel Tales. At that time I could only find Bloy’s Histoires Désobligeantes in French. I was pleased when Wakefield Press published an Erik Butler translation entitled Disagreeable Tales in 2015. I’m certainly a fan of Wakefield Press, but Mr. Stableford’s introduction alone, makes this Snuggly Books offering a welcome edition to my Bloy collection. Mr. Stableford has an extensive portfolio of French-English translations, including works by the masterful Alphonse Allais. I am confident that if anyone can do Léon Bloy justice, he can.

I also received the first six ‘Snuggly Slims,’ including works by David Rix, Justin Isis, Quentin S. Crisp, Kristine Ong Muslim, Toadhouse, and Yarrow Paisley. This series will soon include my own novella, An Archive of Human Nonsense.

IMG_3920.JPG

You can view Snuggly Books’ current catalogue here, to which will soon be added Frederick Rolfe’s An Ossuary of the North Lagoon and Other Stories, with an introduction by yours truly, and the novella  An Archive of Human Nonsense.

