Apocrypha and Abstractions

by Jason Rolfe

publication9

My short short play, ‘Old Wooden Bench’ will appear in Apocrypha and Abstractions on September 4. It was the first short play I wrote. In terms of the story, however, this it’s actual working title was ‘Old Wooden Bench #2’. I’ve written (thus far) three flash fiction pieces involving this particular bench. The first was a variation of this story, the third another story entirely. I’m sure that old wooden benches aren’t widely regarded as story material, but this bench certainly inspired me! Since writing ‘Old Wooden Bench’ I have discovered an enthusiasm for playwriting. I’ve written two absurd one act plays this summer – ‘The Elephant in the Room’ and ‘The Drawing of Straws’ – both of which I hope to submit soon. In the meantime, stop by Apocrypha and Abstractions on September 4 to check the old bench out!

