An Inconvenient Corpse

by Jason Rolfe

I should point out that my actual commute to work each and every morning takes approximately two minutes. I don’t mean to understate it. In fact, I’ve been told that the most dangerous parts of any trip are the first and last minute, making my two minute commute 100% dangerous. Nevertheless, it’s a short commute. I’ve been documenting these commute-related incidents recently. Many have, in fact, been published. For example, “An Inconvenient Corpse” has just been published by Pure Slush. You can read it here. Here is a brief excerpt. It has to be brief because the story itself is really short…like my commute:

I passed a corpse on the way to work this morning. He was standing on the corner of Keil and Riverview smoking a cigarette. He wore a frown and a crisp black suit and every other moment consulted the gold watch he wore around his left wrist…

Like all the incidents I’ve written, this one is completely true. Sadly true, in fact. Absurdly true. Pure Slush is an excellent read. I strongly encourage you to check it out – and please, leave me a comment in the space they have so graciously provided beneath my story. I’d love to hear what you’ve got to say…er…unless you’re part of this particular story’s truthiness, in which case let’s just pretend I made the whole thing up. Either way I suppose it’s true what they say – the truth hurts.

