Beware Pickpockets in Black Scat Review!

by Jason Rolfe

ImageI have a collection of books. I also have a collection of items found within the pages of those collected books – from newspaper clippings and old postcards, to receipts and photographs, I’m always entertained by the objects people use as spur-of-the-moment bookmarks. For the most part I leave them where I found them – I believe they’ve become  a piece of their book’s ongoing history.

I wrote a short-short-short story recently about a bus ticket I found within the pages of an old paperback copy of Daniil Kharms’ Incidences. The image to the left is a scanned copy of the actual ticket. I am pleased to say that my story, “Beware Pickpockets About” will appear in the ninth instalment of Black Scat Review. As per their website, Black Scat Review is an international magazine of the arts, featuring innovative fiction, art, interviews, and works in translation”, including the work of one of my literary inspirations, French author Alphonse Allais.

You can visit Black Scat Review online here.

You can visit their Absurdist Texts & Documents Series here.

You can also check out their books here, including translations of Alphonse Allais’ Captain Cap stories in Captain Cap: His Adventures, His Ideas, His Drinks.

